In this space I will be introducing the members of my band in loose succession:

Tobias Backhaus – drums

Who should I call?

Who got THAT groove, who is Jazz, who’s got that sound?

Those were my questions looking for a drummer.

‘Tobias Backhaus!’ – was the reply I got from whoever I asked. And they were damn right: Tobias is a great great musician and pal.

Which 3 recordings would you take with you to the mythical desert island?

OK, let’s get straight to the crunch…Three…that’s not many… So it would have to be recordings on which you discover new things, new details and nuances even after the thousandth listen. And, of course, with all the music out there, my choices would probably vary day by day. My choices for today:

Terry Gibbs Dream Band Vol. 1 – You can’t go to a desert island without a big band, can you?! Mel Lewis on drums, Conte Candoli on lead trumpet, arrangements by Bill Holman, Bob Brookmeyer and Al Cohn…what more could you ask for?! And Mel is playing his tail off!!!

Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 9 – Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra under Claudio Abbado. I don’t think I have to explain this one…

Aaaaand I’d probably need some Beatles! Today’s tendency would be towards Revolver. But every album is great. Hey, could I just take a box set???

Where did you grow up?

I was born and raised in Darmstadt, a small town close to Frankfurt am Main.

What brought you to music?

My mother is a very musical person who used to play church organ and piano and is an avid hobby singer. She sent me to pre-school music ed when I was very young. Of course, when asked if I wanted to learn an instrument, it just couldn’t be one of the instruments my mother played – so, much to my neighbours’ dismay, I took up drum lessons. My pre-school teacher thought I had a good feeling for rhythm…???

Tobias Backhaus with Bastian Stein Group

What are the highlights of your own musical experiences?

Every concert with great musicians in front of an enthusiastic audience is a highlight!! Be it a sold out night in the Cologne Philharmonic with Till Brönner and his Orchestra, touring Japan with Cyminology or a gig in a small club in Berlin with my buddies playing our favourite jazz songs. I feel very fortunate to be able to work with so many great musicians and wonderful human beings!

What do you find most special about Me&You or the project itself?

Edward’s music really has a unique sound to it. Think understatement; simplicity without being monotonous. But on the other hand he writes things (including composed drum beats!) which are not at all easy to pull off. Some tunes may sound deceptively simple – but at second sight (or listen) there is quite a bit more going on than what one might have thought.


That was Tobias….

Here is another recording from my album Me&You. The song “Resistance” is the only number that we recorded as a trio – with Christian Kögel on guitar and Tobias on drums. Have a listen; I don’t think I need to explain why I am so pleased to have him in my band:

Resistance, Me&You, Edward Maclean

I am message box. Click edit button to change this text.

An dieser Stelle werde ich in loser Folge die Musiker meiner Band vorstellen:

Tobias Backhaus – Schlagzeug

Wen soll ich anrufen?

Wer hat nen tighten groove? Wer hat und ist Jazz? Wer hat den Sound?

Das waren meine Fragen, als ich 2012 durch Berlin lief auf der Suche nach dem Schlagzeuger für meine Band. Wen auch immer ich fragte – ‚Tobias Backhaus‘ war immer die Antwort. Wie richtig Alle lagen…. ein großartiger Musiker und Mensch.

Welche 3 Aufnahmen würdest Du auf die sagenumwobene einsame Insel mitnehmen?

Gleich zu Anfang die Gretchenfrage…generell bräuchte ich Platten, bei denen ich auch nach dem tausendsten Anhören noch was Neues entdecken kann. Drei sind natürlich recht wenig, deshalb wäre meine Antwort morgen vielleicht ein wenig anders. Aber heute:

Terry Gibbs Dream Band Vol. 1 – man kann ja schließlich nicht ohne Big Band auf die einsame Insel! Mel Lewis am Schlagzeug, Conte Candoli an der Leadtrompete, Arrangements u.A. von Bill Holman, Bob Brookmeyer und Al Cohn…was will man mehr?! Und Mel ist in absoluter Topform!!!

Gustav Mahler Sinfonie Nr. 9 – Berliner Philharmoniker mit Claudio Abbado. Ich glaube dazu muss man nicht viel sagen.

Und ich glaube ich bräuchte auch die Beatles. Meine Tagesform sagt gerade Revolver. Aber eigentlich sind alle Platten geil. Ginge auch ein Box Set???

Wo bist Du aufgewachsen?

Ich bin geboren und aufgewachsen in Darmstadt im schönen Südhessen.

Wie bist Du zur Musik gekommen?

Ich habe eine sehr musikalische Mutter, die früher Orgel und Klavier gespielt hat und mich als kleiner Junge zur musikalischen Früherziehung angemeldet hat. Natürlich wollte ich, als es darum ging, ein Instrument zu lernen auf gar keinen Fall das gleiche spielen wie meine Mutter also bekam ich Schlagzeugunterricht. Die Erzieherin damals meinte, ich hätte Talent für Rhythmus…???

Welche waren Deine biographischen Highlights musikalischer Natur?

Jeder Abend mit großartigen Musikern vor einem tollen Publikum ist ein Highlight!! Sei es ein ausverkauftes Konzert in der Philharmonie in Köln mit dem Till Brönner Orchestra, eine Tournee nach Japan mit Cyminology oder ein Konzert in einem kleinen Berliner Club mit guten Freunden, bei dem sich alle die Seele aus dem Leib spielen. Ich schätze mich sehr glücklich, mit so vielen wunderbaren Musikern (und wunderbaren Menschen!) zusammenarbeiten zu dürfen.

Wass findest Du besonders an Me&You oder dem Projekt?

Edwards Musik ist auf der einen Seite Understatement auf die beste Art und Weise – Simplizität ohne Eintönigkeit. Auf der anderen Seite gibt es da aber auch einige Grooves, die gar nicht mal so einfach zu spielen sind. Manches klingt täuschend leicht, hat es aber auf den zweiten Blick wirklich in sich – und hat einen wirklich eigenständigen Sound.


Und noch mehr Musik:

Hier eine Aufnahme von der CD Me&You. Den Song Resistance haben wir als einzige Nummer in Trio Besetzung aufgenommen – mit Christian Kögel an der Gitarre und Tobias am Schlagzeug. Hört rein, ich glaub, ich muss nicht mehr groß erklären, warum ich so froh bin, ihn in meiner Band zu wissen:

Resistance, Me&You, Edward Maclean

I am message box. Click edit button to change this text.